Open textbook virtual meeting, 29th September 2008

In addition to our [Open Text Book](http://opentextbook.org/) project, we’re very interested in the creation, distribution, use and re-use of [open](http://opentextbook.org/) textbooks. We’ve arranged a virtual meeting later this month for anyone interested. Details are as follows:

* **When**: Monday 29th September, 1000 PST, 1800 BST or 1900 CEST
* **Where**: #okfn IRC channel at [oftc.net](http://www.oftc.net/oftc/). To join the channel you can:
* connect using an [IRC client](http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_IRC_clients);
* connect using a web-based service, such as Mibbit ([click here to join the channel via Mibbit](http://ur1.ca/4fh)).
* **Wiki page**: [http://okfn.org/wiki/opentextbooks](http://okfn.org/wiki/opentextbooks)

So far participants will include:

* Amee Godwin, [ISKME](http://www.iskme.org/) + [OER Commons](http://www.oercommons.org/)
* Nicole Allen, [Student PIRGs](http://www.studentpirgs.org/) + [Make Textbooks Affordable](http://www.maketextbooksaffordable.org/) (which we [blogged about in April](http://blog.okfn.org/2008/04/16/open-textbooks-statement-to-make-textbooks-affordable/))
* Rick Watson, [The Global Text Project](http://globaltext.org)
* Judy Baker, [Foothill Global Access](http://www.foothillglobalaccess.org/) + [Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources](http://cccoer.wordpress.com/)
* Robert A. Beezer, [textbook author](http://linear.ups.edu/index.html) + [Professor](http://buzzard.ups.edu/)

If you’d like to participate, please add your name and affiliation to the [wiki page](http://okfn.org/wiki/opentextbooks)!