Support Us

Energy and Climate Hackday, March 3rd

On Saturday 3rd March we’re getting together for the Energy and Climate Hackday to data-wrangle and build apps around energy and climate data. All skills and interest groups are welcome: developers, data journalists, economists, climate scientists, environmentalists and interested citizens.

  • When? Saturday 3rd March, 11am GMT (12pm CET/6am EST) to ~7pm GMT (8pm CET/3pm EST)
  • Where? London, Berlin and Online.
    • London – ThoughtWorks Ltd, 9th Floor Berkshire House, 168-173 High Holborn, London, WC1V 7AA.
    • Berlin – Open Knowledge Foundation Deutschland Offices – Coworking Space, St. Oberholz Rosenthaler Straße 72a, 10119 Berlin
    • Online – you can also join online from 12pm GMT (13pm CET/7am EST) through Skype and IRC (#okfn or #okfnecon on freenode).
  • Who? Anyone! All skills are necessary and welcomed: coding, writing, illustrating, climate modelling or having concerns about the environment.
  • How? Sign up on the MeetUp page and on the Etherpad.

Hackday Challenges:

  • Creating an app, which visualises different energy indicators for all countries from the WorldBank database, as in Europe’s Energy.

  • Reducing greenhouse gas emissions: DECC 2050 Pathways Calculator with representatives from DECC, who would like to develop an international version of the application.

  • Visualisation of deforestation data with a world map, which tracks changes in forest area and land use as well as carbon dioxide emissions… also relating them to economic indicators?

  • Your ideas…

Incentives

A successful prototype will be submitted to the Apps4Climate World Bank competition. The competition calls for an application which:

  • is related to climate change; either to raising awareness, measuring progress, or helping in some way to address the development challenges of climate change.
  • makes use of one or more of the datasets listed in the World Bank Data Catalog or Climate Change Knowledge Portal.
  • may be any kind of software application, be it for the web, a personal computer, a mobile handheld device, console, SMS, or any software platform broadly available to the public.

The competition period ends on March 16, 2012 at 5:00 PM EST.

DataParty prior to the event:

You are also welcome to join the Energy and Climate DataParty on the 29th February to data mine and mash up climate and energy data. Researchers and graduate students who have worked on environment-related topics are also invited to share their dissertation datasets on theDataHub.

If you are interested in co-organising this event and have ideas for challenges, you are welcome to join.

Get Updates