Blog

Data Expedition: Tax Avoidance and Evasion – 6th June

Want to dig deep into tax avoidance and evasion? We have gathered a wide range of data on this sensitive topic and for one afternoon we’ll guide you through some of the key decisions to think about when writing a story on the topics. With tax evasion and tax avoidance currently such a hot topic […]

IRS: Turn Over A New Leaf, Open Up Data

**The following post is co-authored by [Stefan Verhulst](http://www.thegovlab.org/about/team/stefaan-verhulst/) and [Beth Noveck](https://twitter.com/bethnoveck). It is cross-posted from [Forbes.com](http://www.forbes.com/sites/bethsimonenoveck/2013/05/21/irs-turn-over-a-new-leaf-open-up-data/). If you’d like to learn more about tax data, check out our [data expedition on tax evasion and avoidance](http://blog.okfn.org/2013/05/24/data-expedition-tax-avoidance-and-evasion-6th-june/) on the 6th June!** The core task for Danny Werfel, the new acting commissioner of the U.S. Internal Revenue Service […]

Data Expeditions at MozFest

**Expeditions into the Data Landscape: the School of Data goes to #MozFest. Find out what happened at MozFest – and see the tools and data sets to recreate it yourself!** Saturday morning at [MozFest](http://mozillafestival.org/about/). A sold out building, full of a thousand hackers, builders, makers, geeks, journalists, thinkers and more. And right at the top […]

How Spending Stories Fact Checks Big Brother, the Wiretappers’ Ball

**This piece was co-written with Eric King of [Privacy International](https://www.privacyinternational.org/) and comes as Privacy International launches a huge new data release about companies selling surveillance technologies. It is cross-posted on the [MediaShift PBS IDEA LAB](http://www.pbs.org/idealab/) and the [OpenSpending blog](http://blog.openspending.org/2012/02/24/how-spending-stories-fact-checks-big-brother-the-wiretappers-ball/).** Today, the global surveillance industry is estimated at around $5 billion a year. But which companies […]

Launch of Open Spending Blog: Thoughts on Journalist-Programmer interaction

**This post is by [Lucy Chambers](http://okfn.org/members/lucychambers/), Community Coordinator at the Open Knowledge Foundation.** Thanks to the hard work of the OpenSpending team getting the software to an exciting stage of development that we are happy to write about and some aesthetic love from our brilliant designer, [Kat Braybrooke](http://okfn.org/members/katbraybrooke/), the OpenSpending blog was officially launched yesterday. […]

Release of Whole of Government Accounts

**The following guest post is by Dan Herbert, who works on our [Where Does My Money Go](http://wheredoesmymoneygo.org/) and [Open Spending](http://www.openspending.org/) projects. He is the Programme Manager for MSc Accounting at Oxford Brookes University.** This week sees the [publication of the first Whole of Government Accounts for the UK](http://www.hm-treasury.gov.uk/psr_government_accounts.htm). WGA represents the end of a decade […]

OpenSpending goes live

After several months of hard work, we are glad to announce the official launch of [OpenSpending](http://openspending.org/) and turn to everyone interested in government accountability and financial transparency to help shape the future of the project. The OpenSpending project will make it easier for the global public to explore and understand government spending. Our developers have […]

Spending Stories is a winner of the Knight News Challenge!

**The following post is from [Jonathan Gray](http://jonathangray.org/), Community Coordinator at the [Open Knowledge Foundation](http://www.okfn.org).** We’re thrilled to announce that our proposal for [Spending Stories](http://blog.okfn.org/2011/01/18/spending-stories/) has been [chosen as a winner](http://www.knightfoundation.org/press-room/press-release/knight-foundation-media-innovation-contest-announc/) for the [Knight News Challenge](http://www.newschallenge.org). What is Spending Stories about? > News stories about government finances are common, but readers often find it challenging to […]